Bakken wins last game with hromadný start but catches a small ball

20/03/2022 16:39

Norwegian biathlete Sivert Bakken won with a massive start in the final race of the season at Holmenkollene. He overcame local Holma Laegreid in the final sprint and won a small ball for the discipline’s overall victory. Frenchman Émilien Jacquelin from France finished third.

In the final race of the 2021/2022 season, 30 biathletes will start and no Slovenia will be represented.

Frenchman Quentin Fillon Merlet, already the big crystal ball champion, had a chance in the small crystal ball, but 36 points in seventh place was not enough for him.

The battle for the small ball was the highlight of the final game of the season. Bakken was one of 17 biathletes who suffered 100 percent injuries during the opening ceremony. Maillet had to complete two penalty rounds, which fundamentally complicates the path to winning in the discipline.

In the second round, the seven-man team took the lead, with five of them hitting 100% with two shots. After the second serve, Maillet’s small-ball chances were completely shattered, and he made a mistake on the second serve. Standing one shot once again narrowed the number of true title favorites. Although Bakken was not in the forefront, he was one step closer to the championship thanks to his third 100% serve.

On the penultimate lap, Samuelsson was in the lead, pressured by his Norwegian rival Bakken a Laegreid. Bakken served 100 percent, while Samuelson made three mistakes. The winner of the final race of the season and the holder of the cart is determined by the final round of cross country. Laegreid reached Bakken, and their battle entered the final sprint. Úspešnejší Bakken conquered the region with piataich desatín sekundy.

15km Mass Start Race:

1. Sivert Guttorm Bakken 38:31.2 (0),

2. Sturla Holm Laegreid (both Norwegian) +0.5 (2),

3. Emilien Jacquelin (Fr.) +13.4 (2),

4. Erik Lesser +21.6 (2),

5. Philipp Nawrath (both German) +31.5 (1),

6. Vetle Sjastad Christiansen (Nor.) +44.8 (0),

7. Quentin Fillon Maillet (Fr.) +48.4 (3),

8. David Zobel (Germany) +49.2 (1)

World Cup final standings:

1. Quentin Fillon Maillet (Fr.) 984 points,

2. Sturla Holm Laegreid (Nór.) 736,

3. Sebastian Samuelson (Sweden) 717,

4. Vetle Sjastad Christiansen (Nór.) 708,

5. Emilien Jacquelin (Fr.) 706,

6. Tarjei Bö (Nor.) 601,

7. Simon Desthieux (Fr.) 590,

98. Michal Sma (SR) 4

The final order of discipline:

1. Sivert Guttorm Bakken (North) 182 points,

2. Quentin Fillon Maillet (Fr.) 178,

3. Vetle Sjastad Christiansen 165,

4. Sturla Holm Laegreid (both Norwegian) 153,

5. Amy Lian Jacqueline 142,

6. Antonin Guigonnat (two priests) 131

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *